PDA

View Full Version : Dirt Oval Set-Up

twigstoy
June 20th, 2005, 12:54 PM
I am new to dirt oval racing. I need a base set-up for a 1/8 scale buggy. (Shock oils, diff oils)
My problem so far is when coming off the corner, my buggy's tail end wants to kick out. I have 5-7-3 in the diffs right now. I am running a Mayhem. I am getting beat in the corners. Push going in, lose coming off. Any help would be appreciated.

Smokey
June 20th, 2005, 1:22 PM
PM Dirtdog he can help.

assocman
June 21st, 2005, 3:04 PM
try to put a harder spring in the left rear and right front.

Doug Carter
June 21st, 2005, 3:43 PM
If you do a search on "setup" you will find a lot of good info. There was a pretty good discussion a few months ago on dirt oval setup that explains a lot of the details of chassis tuning in simple terms.

John Binz
June 21st, 2005, 4:10 PM
1200,000 10,000 1,000 for diff oil setup. 35 shock oil. Put shims in the right rear and left front. Also if the car hasn't gotten better after that put the lowest number on the blocks on the front and rear.

twigstoy
June 21st, 2005, 5:12 PM
Do you mean 120,000 in the front? Also, please explain why so much in the front and so little in the rear. Does thicker in the front not take away your steering? I don't know, Im asking. All help is GREAT. Thanks !!!!!

Dirtdog
June 21st, 2005, 5:24 PM